News & Events

  • Masthead 1

    Masthead 1
  • Masthead 2

    Masthead 2
  • Masthead 3

    Masthead 3
  • Masthead 4

    Masthead 4

2015 Zanesville Prize Winners Announced

Winners of the 2015 Zanesville Prize for Contemporary Ceramics were announced during an opening reception Friday, September 25, at the Zanesville Museum of Art.

Winners are:

Best of Show ($20,000)—Colby Parsons of Denton, Texas; “Peak #1”

First Place ($5,000)—Paul Donnelly of Kansas City, Missouri; “Tray”

Second Place ($3,000)—Amanda Salov of Corvallis, Oregon; “Bloom”

Third Place ($1,000)—Chris Dufala of Helena, Montana; “Selling Copy”

Honorable Mention ($500)—Jessica Putnam-Phillips of Arlington, Vermont; “Ashes of Rose, Urn Pair”

Honorable Mention ($500)—John Utgaard of Murray, Kentucky; “Reaction”

Nearly 370 artists from around the world submitted works for the second annual juried show. Jurors selected more than 60 finalist works which are on display at the Zanesville Museum of Art, 620 Military Rd., Zanesville, through January 2, 2016.

Jurors were Garth Johnson, Curator of Ceramics at the Arizona State University Art Museum; Doug Jeck, Associate Professor and the chair of Ceramic Art at the University of Washington; and Julia Galloway, Director of the School of Art at the University of Montana, Missoula.

Partners in the exhibition are the Muskingum County Community Foundation, the Zanesville Museum of Art, the Ohio Arts Council and the Artist Colony of Zanesville (ArtCoz).

For more information on the Zanesville Prize visit or contact the Muskingum County Community Foundation at 740-453-5192.

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.