News & Events

  • Masthead 1

    Masthead 1
  • Masthead 2

    Masthead 2
  • Masthead 3

    Masthead 3
  • Masthead 4

    Masthead 4

Muskingum County Community Foundation Scholarships Due TUESDAY – Over $60,000 to be awarded!

Several scholarship applications for academic year 2014-2015 are presently being accepted at The Muskingum County Community Foundation. The following scholarships are due on Tuesday, April 1st.

  • The Pamela Smith Jackson Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a senior attending Waterford High School and one to a senior attending West Muskingum High School. Applicants must have a GPA of at least 3.0, be involved in community activities including some volunteering, and be planning to attend a 4 year college or university. Pamela Smith was born in 1950 to Addison LeRoy Smith and Wilsie Maxine Smith of Waterford, Ohio. She graduated from Waterford High School in 1968. She attended Ohio University and graduated in 1972 with a double major in history and government. She also had a minor in secondary education. Pam was a voracious reader and she enjoyed challenging herself with a variety of mind games and puzzles. Pam developed multiple sclerosis in her adult life at approximately the age of 42. She battled this debilitating disease for the rest of her life. In 2006, Pam was diagnosed with cancer and within approximately 6 weeks, she passed away. Her four sisters have established this scholarship to honor her memory and her love of learning.
  • The Tom Johnson Scholarship will be awarded to applicants that demonstrate a true love for life, a fantastic work ethic, a great sense of humor, and true respect for their family. This scholarship was established to honor Tom’s memory, his sense of humor, his love for his family, his love of sports, and the value he placed in education. He considered himself a late bloomer; as his most successful school days were in college. He was known for his “go get ‘em, never give up” attitude. All applicants must be 2014 graduates of a Muskingum County High School and be student athletes from the following sports: golf, bowling, or softball.
  • The Bucci-Dietz Art Scholarship will award one annual scholarship (usually $500) to a student artist pursuing a degree in the visual arts field at a college, university or institute. The scholarship is a one-time non-renewable award. The recipient is selected with consideration given to artistic achievements, artistic potential, academic ability, dependability, responsibility, motivation and recommendations. Student must be a graduate of a Muskingum County High School. The Ronna Bucci and Dr. Charles Dietz Artist’s Award was created in memory of Ronna Bucci, a young artist, and Dr. Dietz, the longtime Director of the Zanesville Art Center. The Award is given from the Ronna Bucci and Dr. Charles Dietz Arts Endowment Fund established at the Muskingum County Community Foundation, who with the Beaux Arts Club, the Bucci’s, Dr. Dietz, and many others provided the initial gifts to the Fund.
  • The Ashley Cordial Memorial Scholarship will be awarded to a 2014 high school senior from West Muskingum High School pursuing higher education opportunities for the 2014-15 school year. The applicant must be involved in extra-curricular, community and volunteer activities and planning to obtain a degree in any subject area.
  • The Grant Hickman Memorial Scholarship will be awarded to multiple high school seniors graduating from a Muskingum county high school, Morgan High School, Sheridan High School or Cambridge High School, pursuing higher educational opportunities for the 2014-15 school year. The applicant must be involved in extra-curricular, community and volunteer activities.
  • The Carolyn Ann Weiner Scholarships will be awarded to students who, like Carrie, face extraordinary challenges in their lives and wish to attend college. Candidates are nominated by individuals such as guidance counselors, principals, physicians, and ministers who are able to attest to the students’ strength of character and ability to succeed in spite of the challenges.
  • The Muskingum County Democrat Club Scholarship in Memory of Brenda A. Anderson is awarded to a high school senior residing in Muskingum County who plans to attend a 2 or 4 year accredited college or university starting fall term of 2014 to pursue a career in the public arena. All majors may apply.
  • The Josephine Sebach Scholarships are awarded to residents of Muskingum County who are graduates of Muskingum County high schools. Students must be first-time college students and may be graduating high school seniors or previous graduates who plan to attain a 2 or 4 year degree/certificate from an accredited institution. Applicants are expected to be highly motivated to be successful and have clear knowledge of the occupations they wish to pursue.
  • The Margaret Carol Barringer Scholarship will be awarded to a graduating senior of Philo High School. Student must have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better. Student must attend an accredited college, university, or institute. The ideal recipient will possess a balance of academic achievement, extra-curricular participation & community involvement.
  • The Beckwith Farm Scholarship is open to any Philo High School graduate majoring in nursing or education. Candidates may be high school seniors, current college students, or returning adult students. Applicants must apply online. They will be able to save their work and come back to it; after they have submitted it, they may still revise their application until the deadline.

For a complete description of each scholarship application/fund, please visit or email

Application materials for the above scholarships are available at The Muskingum County Community Foundation, 534 Putnam Avenue, Zanesville, Ohio 43701 and online at Additional information may be obtained by contacting Heather Sands at Scholarship Central (740) 453-5192 or

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.